Hello, It’s Me….

Greetings and Salutations…..

Since I’m new to this whole ‘blog’ thing, I suppose I should take a few moments to introduce myself. Well, sort of introduce myself. Since, in all likelihood, I just might be the only person who actually reads this blog, well then, I already know who I am. 😉 And, if I’m able to convince a few close friends to read this (without any money having to change hands), well, then, they already know me.

However, for the kindhearted soul who stumbles across this site, and decides to take a few minutes to read it, well, then, I owe them a quick introduction. Or semi-introduction…..for now, just know that my name is Mary, and I go by the handle of ‘kyrailbird’. I’ve been totally enthralled with horse racing since I was 6, when Secretariat ran away with the Triple Crown, and also my heart. 🙂 Ah, little girls and horses….

Since that time-although I have yet to actually own a horse (of any breed)-I’ve been obsessed with racing (that’s what my family would certainly call it, just ask my sister). I moved to Kentucky to finish my college degree and pursue a racing career over 20 years ago. Until recently, I had what I thought was the perfect job for me….working for a well-known and well-respected racing publication. Unfortunately, that dream (at least temporarily, I HOPE) came to an abrupt halt at Christmas when I was laid off.

So now, along with drawing unemployment and searching for a job, I blog. I hope that by doing this, not only will a few people find this somewhat interesting, but it will also help me feel that I’m still involved in the industry somehow. Right now, after several years of being totally immersed in racing and all the information that comes along with it, I feel as though it’s ‘passing me by’. I’m just a bystander, in a sense, and I don’t like that feeling whatsoever, I have to admit. So, in order to keep what little is left of my sanity, I’ll vent here. 😉

For the most part, this site will cover racing in Europe. I have to admit, over the past few years, I’ve become very disenchanted with North American racing. Medication problems, annoying and idiotic ‘powers that be”, etc., a racing season that NEVER ends…factions of the racing industry who love to whine and cry, but yet, never try to work together…..I’m just sick of it. European racing, to me, is still a *sport*; the season runs from March until November, not year round. Horses are bred to be stout and sound individuals, who actually can run comfortably past 8 furlongs, (What a unique idea…!), and medication is not allowed!

Occasionally, I may just drop a movie or review or two here, because I love movies, and there just might not be anything else to write about. After all, I *am* an expert on that stuff, since I’ve worked in a movie theater for the past 5 years…..! (Yeah, right!)

Ok, that’s enough for now. I’m glad this first post is out of the way. Thank you for reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hello, It’s Me….

  1. Love it! I feel similar in the passing me by thought of yours. Sometimes I think hmmm “sell the business (yeah right in this economy?) and go back to fan and see if I love it as much again”

Leave a Reply

