“Summer Bird, Make Me Feel Fine…..”

“….Blowin’ through the  jasmine in my mind………..”

Ok, so I couldn’t resist a bad play on words.  Forgive me…that’s the only thing that kept going through my mind as Summer Bird crossed the finish line of the Belmont Stakes, though!

I know it’s, —-well,— just way “too 70’s”.  However…’Summer Breeze’, by Seals and Crofts, is one of my all time favorite songs.  And no matter how much I try to deny it,  I’m a child of the 70’s, and that song takes me back immediately to the innocence of my childhood.   Here’s the first verse—-

“See the curtains hanging in the window
In the evening on a Friday night
A little light a-shining through the window
Lets me know everythings alright”

Growing up in little Bad Axe, Michigan;  the fun summer days, running around with the Kwasnik girls, getting on Perry’s nerves (my specialty), and playing on the beach at McGraw Park.  The beach on Lake Huron, that is…  To coming home, to the comfort of Mom and Dad….As those lyrics go through my mind, I can actually feel the warm summer night, and smell the supper that was being fixed in the kitchen of our house on West Woodworth as I came home from a hard day of playing in the neighborhood.  Yes, I know it sounds too good to be true–too much like ‘Ozzie and Harriet’ land.  But really, it was just like that.  For that, I am eternally grateful.

Ok, back to the present time….who in the hell is Summer Bird????  Well, my dear readers, he’s the “other” son of Birdstone that was in the Belmont.  The longshot who finished 6th in the Derby, skipped the Preakness, and (Yowza!), won the Belmont.  Yeah, I’m just as confused as you are!

All I can tell you, (and all I really give a rat’s a** about, actually) is that he’s out of a Summer Squall mare. A Summer Squall mare named Hong Kong Squall.  Which of course, me being the goofball that I am, makes me think of “Hong Kong Phooey”….a cartoon I grew up watching in….wait for it….THE 70s!!!!  See, quite frightening, if you think about it…

Anyway, the pedigree is there.  Sort of.  Hong Kong Squall is closely related to sprint champion Rubiano….she’s also related to very, VERY nice young sire Tapit.  (Hong Kong Squall is out of a 1/2-sister to Rubiano for those pedigree nerds). That is about all I can tell you.  That, and that the colt’s owners, the Jayaraman’s, are originally from India.  For the life of me, I for all these years, I thought the Jayaramans (who race here in KY and in Arkansas) were SWEDISH!

So, needless to say, you can imagine the SURPRISE on my face when I saw the doctors (of course they are doctors…ok, I’m not PC…sue me) from INDIA in the winner’s circle at Belmont!  No blond haired, blue-eyed Swedes there!  (maybe I was expecting ABBA lookalikes??)  Indians!  And not the Native American-kind!

Yes, I realize that I may offend some people by saying all of this…however…I’m guessing that only family and friends read this for the most part, so…I don’t think there’s a big risk there.  If there is…oh, bite me!  Have a sense of humor! “It’s my blog, and I’ll bitch if I want to, bitch if I want to…”

So, again, no Triple Crown winner;  however, we all knew that going into the race.  No surprise there.  Again, for the umpteeth (yes, that’s a word) year in a row, I will have to do a new pedigree box for the winner for the next issue of the magazine.  Lovely.  Like I’m in any condition to actually WORK on a Sunday morning.

Well, I’m going to wrap this up.  I have more silly and serious things to write about, but…it’s getting late, and I’m starting to slide into some serious 70’s songs.  Don’t believe me???  Well, how about his, from none other than England Dan and John Ford Coley??? (another favorite duo of mine)—

“Hello, yeah, it’s been a while.
Not much, how about you?
I’m not sure why I called.
I guess I really just wanted to talk to you.

And I was thinking maybe later on.
We could get together for a while.
It’s been such a long time.
And I really do miss your smile.

*I’m not talking about moving in.
And I don’t want to change your life.
But there’s a warm wind blowing the stars around.
And I’d really love to see you tonight.

We could go walking through a windy park.
Or take a drive along the beach.
Or stay at home and watch TV.
You see it really doesn’t matter much to me.

I won’t ask for promises.
So you don’t have to lie.
We’ve both played that game before.
Say I love you and say goodbye.

See….I’d better just sign off now……

Leave a comment

Filed under Spring Racing, Triple Crown Racing, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

