‘I’m as Mad as Hell, and I’m not Going to Take it Anymore!!’–a.k.a., the Diary of a Mad White Woman

Ok, so I’m not really mad.  Not as in angry.  Maybe as ‘mad as a hatter’, though.  By the way, what makes hatters so mad in the first place?  Maybe I’ll go ask Alice, when she’s 10 feet tall…..and remember, kiddies, when you go chasing rabbits, and you know you’re going to fall…tell them a hookah smoking caterpillar has given you the call. (yes, actual lyrics)

Oooh….trippy, ain’t it baby? A real flower-power flashback there, kids.

No, I have not had any mushrooms whatsoever, whether they be on a pizza or growing out in my yard. 😉

I have a lot on my mind.  Really, I do.  I’ve just been too lazy to sit here and put it into words.  It’s too bad, in this age of ‘tweeting’ and instant messaging and such, that there isn’t some sort of way that we could do a sort of ‘stream of consciousness’ blog.  You know, things would be typed up instantly as a person was thinking of them.  That would be pretty cool, would it not?  Freaky, yes;  scary, whatever, you name it.  It would be really cool, you have to admit.  Of course, we are all waiting on our flying cars, too.  I mean, the Jetsons had them back in the late 60’s/early 70’s.  Where’s mine??  Obviously not being designed by GM.

Alright, here’s some sort of serious stuff now—I really, REALLY don’t give a rat’s ass that Sarah Palin accepts David Letterman’s apology!  It was a JOKE, you Alaskan snowball!  Get over it!  It was directed toward your darling OLDEST daughter, who WAS knocked up, by the way, not your 14-year-old daughter.  GEEEZ!

Ahem.  Ok, got that off my chest.  People just make me crazy (or crazier) for the most part.  Makes me want to scream most of the time.  Or burst into song;  but, I then I remember that I’m not in a musical, so then I just get really cranky.

Alright….onto the many things I have to comment on!

The ‘Secretariat‘ movie that is finally in the works. Yippee!  After my initial excitement, however, came the realization that I would have to remain working out at Regal for at least another year, just so I could see the movie for free.  And to make sure I snagged some posters. Dammit!  I think Diane Lane is a very good choice to play Penny Tweedy/Chenery.  Honestly, for many years, I thought Glenn Close would be a great choice for the part.  I guess Hollywood must think she’s ‘too old’, though.  Oh well.  I do love Diane Lane, I must admit.  She and Kate Winslet…I have a sort of a ‘girl crush’ on both of them.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that!

I hope that they cast actor John Mahoney (Martin Crane, Frasier’s dad on ‘Frasier’) as trainer Lucien Lauren.  Not sure yet who they should consider for Ron Turcotte.  Just hope it’s not Tobey Maguire.

Staying on the movie/TV theme here for a little bit….I’ve been seeing plenty of movies here recently. (keep in mind, I do work at a theater) I highly recommend the remake of ‘Pelham 1-2-3‘.  Very good action flick with Denzel Washington.  ‘The Hangover‘ was hilarious!  Of course, I don’t think everyone would like it (I’m directing that to my oldest sibling…we definitely have a different taste in comedies!  And, that’s ok!).  “The Proposal” is fun, too.  I always enjoy Sandra Bullock in a good comedy.

Since summer is upon us, and since we are totally into either the television rerun season or reality show doldrums, let me recommend a few programs for you.  I waste my time, so you don’t have to!

For some silly fun, check out ‘Cake Boss‘ on TLC on Monday nights at 10 p.m.  It’s only a 1/2-hour, but it’s really a lot of fun.  An Italian, family-owned bakery in New Jersey.  Kinda like ‘The Sopranos’, but with fondant and icing, rather than bullets and strippers. 🙂  They create some beautiful cakes, too.

A certain big sis got me hooked on “The Closer” a few years ago, and I haven’t regretted it.  It’s also on Monday nights, at 9 p.m.

For those of you with HBO, or want to rent or invest in a good DVD series set, check out “In Treatment“.  Season 1 is available on DVD;  season 2 just wrapped up, and is available on HBO On Demand.  I can’t say enough wonderful things about this series.  I have to admit that I didn’t watch the first season.  I remember wanting to, but because HBO ran it originally as a half-hour/5 nights a week thing, I just didn’t want to get involved.  Plus, I never remembered to record it.  I started watching season 2, and it only took 1 episode to draw me in.  And, I must admit, fall head-over-heels for Gabriel Byrne.

Gabriel Byrne is one of those actors who, if you think about, has been around for awhile, kinda/sorta always in the background.  Never seeming to land a ‘starring’ or ‘big time’ role.  The main thing I remember him in previously is ‘The Usual Suspects‘ (a great movie, btw…..check it out).  Anyway, ‘In Treatment’ is about Paul Weston, a therapist, played by Byrne.  Each episode is a day/session, with a different patient.  The ‘Friday’ episode is Paul’s session with *his* therapist (and college mentor) Gina.  Each episode just has pretty much 2 actors in it, and it’s a tremendous showcase for the acting talent.  Blair Underwood, Hope Davis, Dianne Wiest, John Mahoney….they’re just some of the actors that have been on the past 2 seasons.

Gabriel is tremendous in this show….I couldn’t believe how talented he is.  And that was just after watching 1 episode.  I was sucked in by the blue eyes, the Irish accent, and rugged features.  I’ve moved him up into a ‘virtual tie’ with George Clooney on my ‘wish list’.  Yeah, he’s that good, ladies.  Really, for some great acting, check this program out!

Whew…I sound like I’m a teenage groupie or something.  He just does that to you, though…

Well, I think I’ll wrap this up now.  Not much about racing this time around, was there?  “I beg your pardon, I never promised you a rose garden.” 😉  I do have plenty of racing stuff to talk about though.  Some of the best racing on the planet has begun, with Royal Ascot running this week.  I’ll post some stuff about that later, I promise. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

